Posted on

Here comes 12….

So today, August 4th, is the big revel of who the 12th Doctor will be on Doctor Who. I am not watching it live because I don’t have BBCAmerica, but I will on Twitter, following, watching, obsessing. Eeek!

So I came into Doctor Who fandom in late 2010/early 2011. My husband, Will, was working from home, and I was teaching at a nearby middle school. I would get home from work around four, just in time for BBCAmerica to run a rerun of the Doctor. At first, Will and I just had it on for background noise, but then we started watching it. We thought it was cheesy, then goofy, then pretty good, then interested. Netlix had all of 9 and 10’s episodes and the recently finished first series of 11. We saw that series 6 was coming on that fall so Will and I began watching all of the shows and movies of the show. We wanted to be able to watch the new series completely. We made it just in time.

Now we are hooked. We are Whovians. We got our Tardi, ringtones, etc. I am working on the screwdriver. We converted my younger sister to the cause. All of us are now working on my baby sister. She will be moving to college in a couple of weeks to a school that has a very active Quidditch (she is a big HP fan) and Battleship team so I am pretty sure that she will become a Whovian soon.

So now we wait. It is 2:07 Eastern time in Georgia so by the time you read this, the new Doctor will be revealed. I will write my thoughts later. I am going to miss 11. He is my Doctor. (10 is important, but face it. It’s like choosing which child is your favorite.) So let’s enjoy Whovians. It is a new chapter. Time to celebrate. Some reading material below!

 

Leave a Reply

